Tuesday, January 13, 2015

Complete List of Senate Indian Affairs Committee Members

These are the people we will need to be contacting this year:

The Senate Indian Affairs Committee (@indiancommittee) is in Republican hands for the 114th Congress.

As expected, Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyoming @senjohnbarrasso ) is serving as chairman. He is one of eight Republicans on the committee, a list that includes two newcomers: Sen. James Lankford (R-Oklahoma) and Sen. Steve Daines (R-Montana), who are newly-elected members of the Senate.

Also joining the committee for the first time is Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kansas). He sponsored a bill to fix the U.S. Supreme Court decision in Carcieri v. Salazar in the 113th session of Congress.

Returning to the committee are Sen. John McCain (R-Arizona), Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Sen. John Hoeven (R-North Dakota) and Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho).

On the Democratic side, Sen. Jon Tester (D-Montana  @jontester  ) will serve as vice chair. There are no newcomers so the remaining list of members should look familiar to Indian Country: Sen. Maria Cantwell (D-Washington), Sen. Tom Udall (D-New Mexico), Sen. Al Franken (D-Minnesota  @don'tgiveacrapaboutyouifyou'renotfromMN). Sen Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) and Sen. Heidi Heitkamp (D-North Dakota).

The committee has not yet announced any business meetings or hearings, meaning there is time to get your letters in to the Chairman, which is up on an earlier post....

1 comment:

This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.