Tuesday, January 25, 2011

House Natural Resources Committee Announces New Members from GOP

House Natural Resources Committee Chairman Doc Hastings, R-Wash., today announced committee assignments for the Subcommittee on Indian and Alaska Native Affairs. Don Young, R-Alaska, will serve chairman over the following GOP House members: Jeff Denham, of California; Daniel Benishek, of Michigan; Paul Gosar, of Arizona; Raúl Labrador, of Idaho; Kristi Lynn Noem, of South Dakota. Hastings will serve ex officio.

“The Natural Resources Committee has broad jurisdiction that allows our Members to use their individual talents and expertise to work on policies and issues that will help create jobs, grow the economy, and reduce wasteful government spending,” Hastings said in a statement accompanying the announcement.

The full committee will meet Jan. 26 in part to adopt an oversight plan, which includes the following Indian-focused items: budget and spending Review; federal barriers to economic and energy development on Indian land; Cobell v. Salazar settlement implementation; trust reform; fee-to-trust issues, including Carcieri v. Salazar; Alaska Natives; natural resources management on Indian reservations; Tribal Law and Order Act implementation; Indian Health Care Improvement Act Implementation/Indian Health Service; and gaming.

WE must continue to press for enforcement of the Indian Civil Rights Act!

No comments: